Member Avatar for trebor-pl

Hi,
I am writing a program that allows to keep track of some racing records and to do this I need to be able to save objects on a external file and then load them with next startup of the program. As I am just a beginner I need your help to do so.

I did some research read about persistence and serialization. Kinda know the concept and implementation, however I'm not sure. I dont exactly know how to preserve the pointers and pointees and just pull it off.

I have two classes, driver and team class, I want to save their objects on an external file to load it on the next use. Please help.

driver.h

#ifndef DRIVER.H
#def DRIVER.H
#include "team.h"

class CDriver
{
      private:
              int driver_id;
              char fname[20];
              char lname[20];
              short unsigned int new_point_system;
              short unsigned int old_point_system;
              short unsigned int place_point_system;
              unsigned int driver_championships;
              unsigned int last_racepoints;
              bool hide_driver;
              bool reserve_driver;
              CTeam* pTeam;

public:
             //-------------------------------constructors------------------------------------------------
             CDriver();
             CDriver(int theDriver_id, char theFname[], char theLname[], unsigned int theDriver_championships, bool theReserve_driver); 

//-------------------------------destructors-------------------------------------------------
             ~Cdriver();
             ~CDriver(int theDriver_id, char theFname[], char theLname[], unsigned int theDriver_championships, bool theReserve_driver);

//-------------------------------methods-----------------------------------------------------             
             void setDriver_id(int theDriver_id);                                //set id number of the driver, id comes assigned