Hi

I'm new to C++ and I'd like to make a program that responds to MIDI input from an external device (e.g. MIDI keyboard). I've found a library that should do what I want here:

http://www.music.mcgill.ca/~gary/rtmidi/index.htm.

I'm using VC++ 2010 Express, and I can't figure out how to actually use the library in my project. I've tried importing the source files and headers and then using an include directive, but I keep getting 'LNK2019 - unresolved external symbol' errors. I've also tried compiling the source files as a static library (.lib) file and importing that, but that doesn't work either.

Does anybody know how I can actually use this library? :confused:

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Unarchive it to a directory. There's a MSW directory that contains a VS project. Open that up and build it. Check the lib directory for the lib files (it probably does a debug build initially, so you may have to do a release build later).

After that's all built, go under Project/<projectname>Properties/Configuration Properties/CC++/Additional Include Directories and enter in the directory where the header files for the library are.

Then also under Configuration Properties/Linker/General/Additional Library Directories enter in the location of the lib directory.

Then under Configuration Properties/Linker/Input/Additional dependencies put the name(s) of the lib files in the lib directory.

The first part is specific to this particular library, but the last 3 steps apply to any library.

Give that a go and see if you have any more problems.

Hi jonsca,

Thanks for the suggestion. Unfortunately, when I try to open the solution or project file in the MSW directory, I get the following error:

<file> cannot be opened because its project type (.vcproj) is not supported by this version of the application. To open it, please use a version that supports this type of project.

Is this because it was written for an older version of VC++? Any ideas? :?: