Hi,

I am new to C++ and trying to use map in C++.
I have a sample program as shown below-

#include <iostream>
#include <map>
using namespace std;
int main()
{
    map<char*, char*> m;
    int i;
    char name[64];
    char val[64];
    // put pairs into map
    for(i=0; i<26; i++) {
        sprintf(name, "Hello%d",i);
        sprintf(val, "There%d",i);
        m.insert(pair<char*, char*>((char*)name, (char*)val));
    }

for(map<char*, char*>::iterator p = m.begin(); p!= m.end(); ++p) {
        cout << p->first << ": " << p->second << endl;
    }

return 0;
}

I expect this program to print thge output as below-

Hello0: There0
Hello1: There1
Hello2: There2
Hello25: There25

But the only output from this program is -

Hello25: There25

Can somebody help me achieving the required output. The re-requisite is to have key and value both as char* data.

Thanks in advance.
Shubhendu

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

It has to be char*? Is this even possible? The reason you only get one value is because you're not actually inserting Hello1 Hello2 Hello3 There1 There2 There3, what you're adding is the memory address of "name" and the memory address of "val", since they're pointers. And the memory address of those does not change. So you're inserting the same memory addresses over and over, and they're identical so it just overwrites those entries and you end up with 1 map entry.

You should use strings instead. But if you must use char*...well... you could put it in a struct first and then make a map of struct to struct.