Good day to all, I'm doing a project about inverse permutations from an array of permutations. It's my first time coding on permutations so I don't have any experience on this. So I came up with a solution to just swap the array and the element number as the inverted permutation. Here's my code by the way, I'm just wondering if the "seasoned" members here have any tips on doing an inverted permutation properly.

Please let me know if you guys have any advice. Thanks!

void inverse ( unsigned ip[], const unsigned p[], unsigned elements ) {
	unsigned tempArray = 0, tempIndex = 0;
	for (int i = 0; i < elements; i++ ) {
		tempIndex = i;
		tempArray = p[i];
		ip[tempArray] = tempIndex;
	}
	show ( ip, 5 );
}

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

I never heard of 'inverted premutation' but it looks like your reversing the key to value mapping into value to key mapping. The fastest way you can do this is in linear time, since you have to go through the whole array, which your function does. But there are some redundancies in your code and a possible bug.

The redudent code is your tempIndex, there is no need for it since you can simply use 'i' as it does not change in the body, until next iteration. And a possible bug is that you have no way of knowing whether 'ip' array is big enough, especially since the range p is huge. As a result of this, your program now suffers from buffer overflow and hackers can use this as a means to hack your program.

So to make your program more efficient in space,although you have to sacrifice time, you can do something like this,

//assume result size is same as mapping size
void inverse(const unsigned mapping, const unsigned size, unsigned result){
 for(unsigned i = 0; i < size; ++i){
   unsigned newKey = mapping[i];
   unsigned newKeyIndex = _getKeyIndex( result , newKey, size); //returns a unique index, via hashing
   result [ newKeyIndex ] = i;
}