Hi all, I am new in c++ programming and I would like to learn
what is the difference between

class cuboid : public shape1, private shape2

with

class cuboid : public shape1, public shape2

Thanks a lot

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Anything declared Private can only be accessed by the class itself but anything declared Public can be accessed by any class referencing it...

Think of it like a computer on a network... only your computer can access all the folders... but all computers can access the folders you mark as "shared"

I know what is public and private classes but I did't know in inheritance.

Thanks a lot for your answers.

Thanks a lot for your answers.

Aren't you forgetting something? The arrows maybe?

Don't be greedy mate... these answers don't deserve reputation change...

Aasking for rep is generally frowned upon and not a good idea (it's kind of rude actually). A post like this can net you some serious neg rep., especially if a mod or a partner gets hold of you.

@OP:
Assume you have a base class defined:

//a base class to be inherited
class Base {
 private:
   bool Base_PrvBool;
 protected:
   double Base_ProtDbl;
 public:
   int Base_PubInt;
};  //end Base class

When dealing with inheritance, access modifiers work similarly to the access modifiers within a particular class. A "true" inheritance that behaves similarly to how it is generally described in OO documentation is a "public" inheritance. This makes public members of the base class public members of the derived class. Observe:

class PublicDerived : public Base {
 private:
   float PublicDerived_PrvFloat;
 protected:
   float PublicDerived_ProtFloat;
   //there is also Base::Base_ProtDouble, but it does not require declaring
 public:
   float PublicDerived_PubFloat;
   //there is also Base::Base_PubInt, but it does not require declaring
};  //end PublicDerived class