Hi,

I'm a beginning C++ student and have an assignment to dynamically create an array of a struct to store students' first names, last names, and test grade scores, and then pass it via pointer to a function that will sort the grades and names in ascending order. I wrote a function that finds the lowest numeric grade score of the pointer array of struct, puts it in the first (0) index position, and then puts the numeric value that was in the first (0) index position in the index position that was formerly occupied by the newly found lowest value. Then, it starts at the next highest index position and finds the next lowest value, etc, and swaps it. The issue that I'm having is that I can get the numeric scores sorted properly and moved in the function, but I can't get the first and last names in the array to change position, except somewhat unpredictably. Sometimes, one of the names will overwrite another name and be listed twice in the final output. I have them declared as a string data type and ideally would like them to do the same thing that I have the numeric values doing, but can't seem to achieve it. I've tried using char and strcpy but that's not working, either. I'm sure there's an easier way to do what I'm doing but the assignment is worded very specifically. I'm not sure if it's a simple logic error in the nested loop or perhaps I need to use a different syntax or method to change the index positions of the strings, since I'm using pointers? Maybe a constructor for struct?

This is my first post on any C++ forum, so please excuse any transgressions I may have made in code etiquette, posting, etc! I read all the faqs first and tried to follow them as much as possible, so my apologies if I shouldn't have posted the whole code- I just wanted to give a clear idea of the problem! I'd really appreciate any help...

Thanks in advance!
Evan

/* Test Scores #2 programming challenge */

#include <iostream>
#include <iomanip>
#include <string>
#include <cstring>