how you would compute/denote the time complexity of two loops based on different variables?
I understand how to compute the time complexity for a simple loop

PseduoCode

while X<N
{
while Y<M
{
Z++

}
X++
}

one loop occurs N times - time complexity O(N)
the other loop occurs M - time complexity 0(M)
M- happens to be a unknown function of N

would the time complexity O(MN)?
but In big O notation you are to drop all excess variables
in which case time complexity would be O(N)?

or neither? please help

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Think about it logically. You have O(N) executions of loop N and N executions of loop M. I would think that the complexity then would be O((N^2)M) of course I do not really know much about big-O notation (I just self-taught myself it) does anybody know if O((N^2)M) is right, or any good resources for learning big-O notation?

>>M- happens to be a unknown function of N

That means, M = f(N), and you can't assume anything about f(N), so the runtime would be O(N * f(N)).
That could be linear, polynomial, quadratice, factorial, or whatever; all depending on f(N)

commented: thanks! very helpful +1

>>M- happens to be a unknown function of N

That means, M = f(N), and you can't assume anything about f(N), so the runtime would be O(N * f(N)).
That could be linear, polynomial, quadratice, factorial, or whatever; all depending on f(N)

thank you! I don't have any formal training in time complexity and all the examples online only show how to denote a single variable. Basically I wrote a whole program and I was trying to figure out the time complexity but it had so many variables in it I didnt know how to show it. this should help me finish.