Hello

I'm a beginner at c++ I got these questions for homework. Would appreciate answers to these questions.

Consider the following code for these questions

const int NUMBER_OF_ITEMS = 5;
                  double nums [NUMBER_OF_ITEMS];

Question 1
What is the index of the first and last element in the array?

Question 2
Write a statement to store the value 5.6 in the 3rd location of the array, and another statement to output the 3rd location of the array to the console.

Question 3
Write a loop that will fill up the array by asking the user for input.

Question 4
Write down some code to output all the elements of the array that are greater than 22.

Question 5
What is the meaning of the word 'const', and give one good reason why it is good to declare a const variable for the size of an array?

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

Its not a good way to give away all the answers for a homework. You have to do your part. So lets see...

Q1. Indexing in C++ starts from 0, not from 1. So last element index is size-1. You do the rest of calculations.

Q2. What will be the index of 3rd position in an array, figure it out from the above answer. And each memory space in array is denoted by arrayname[index](eg. a[1], c[2], mine[30] etc etc). How do you insert a value to a variable?? int a=10;?? Right?? Substitute the array index instead of that "a".

Q3.

for(int i=0;i<size of the array; i++)
                {
                    \\insertion statement for each element;
                }

Q4.

for(int i=0;i<size of array;i++)
    {
        if(element>22)
           { 
             \\output that particular element
           }
    }

Q5.