accountfile << account;
    accountfile.close();
    ofstream savingsfile;
    savingsfile.open("C:/accounts/savings.acnt", ios::trunc);
    savingsfile << savings;
    savingsfile.close();
    return 0;
   }

I am a brand new programmer, just learning from the web, i wrote this function as part of an accounting program to write stored values to an output file, the program compiles, and runs without any problems, but when i activate this function from within the program nothing happens, when i retrieve the values from the file, they are exactly the same as the last time i drew from the file. HELP!

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

We need to know what types wallet, account, and savings are. Also you never check if the file is open, so perhaps it isn't opening properly? Also it would be better to make just one file and re-use it then to make 3 files like this:

ofstream file;
file.open("file1");
file<<data;
file.close();
file.open("file2");
file<<data;
file.close();
//...

We need to know what types wallet, account, and savings are.

No we don't. What types they are are irrelevant to the problem.

Add couts to follow the program flow to make sure you in fact are entering the function. And as Labdabeta suggests test (and display) the status of each open and write.

Whenever you open a file to read or write, CHECK THAT IT OPENED! It's really easy to enter the wrong directory path or something. Do something like this:

std::ifstream inFile( "test.txt" );
if ( ! inFile.is_open() )
{
    std::cerr << "Error! Failed to open file" << std::endl;
    return 1;
}

Well, ur not the only newbie who lands up in this problem... Its pretty normal.. The solutions pretty simple..
Ur just not opening the directory properly.. Problem lies inside the double quotes.
1) Ur using the wrong slash, instead of backward slash ( \ ) you're using the forward slash ( / )