I am new at coding. I wanted to read from a file(text) and then write it to another file many times so that the file I write to becomes as large as 20MB..I read Harry Potter book for that....the code works just fine for 1000 lines etc..the file is read properly...but when i read the whole book, it reads ÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍ...insted of the last few paragraphs(5-6)...why does it include garbage values for just the last few paragraphs??
Kindly help..

#include "stdafx.h"
#include <stdio.h>
#include <conio.h>
#include <string.h>
#include <iostream>
#include <stdlib.h>

char *textread();
void textwrite(char *text, int size);
int main()
{ 
    char *text;
    text=textread();
    textwrite(text,strlen(text));
    delete text;
    //getch();
    return -1;
}
char *textread(){
    FILE *f_init;
    f_init = fopen("C:\\data\\init_file.txt","r");
    fseek(f_init, 0, SEEK_END);
    int init_file_size = ftell(f_init);

fclose(f_init);
    f_init = fopen("C:\\data\\init_file.txt","r");

char *text;
    text = new char[ init_file_size+1];
    text[ init_file_size]='\0';
                if(f_init!= NULL)
                {
                    fread( text, sizeof(char),  init_file_size, f_init);
                }

fclose(f_init);

return text;
} 
void textwrite(char *text, int size){
    FILE *f_main;
    f_main = fopen("C:\\data\\main_file.txt", "a+");
    for(int i=0; i<2;i++)
    fwrite(text,sizeof(char),size,f_main);

fclose(f_main);

}

I have used the loop just 2 times as large files do not open..
I am compiling on visual studio...so the code may include some strange libraries..

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies