Hi everyone, I am new to C++ and have no idea where to start with classes. I took my first programming class last semester and just started object oriented programming. I am new to classes and this is my first assignment. Any help with a link or anything would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance, Jillian

Create a program that displays the result of a sales transaction. The calculation requires three numbers. The first number represents the product price. The second number is the sales person commission. These two numbers should be added together. The third value represents a customer discount; subtract this third number from the result of the addition. Create two classes. The first class contains the method to do the calculation. The three numbers are passed to this method by a statement in the other class. The display is performed in the class that calls the calculation method. Save the programs as Transaction.cpp (driver program) and Commission.cpp (has the calculations).

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Okay...

What part do you need help with?

Classes generally have two aspects to them: Things they know and things they do. The first is generally taken care of by the class member variables, while the second is the job of the class's member functions (sometimes called class methods).

The task you posted already states that you're going to need to make two classes, so that's a start! So now think of the things that need to be known and done by the two classes (you might as well call the two classes Commission and Transaction, since these seem as good a names as any).