I have just started getting into SFML and Visual studio as well . I have always worked on turbo c++ . I am not sure I understand the very first code that I have come across while getting into SFML . Here is the program..

#include<iostream>
#include<SFML\System.hpp>

int main()
{
    sf::Clock Clock;

sf::Sleep(0.1f);

while (Clock.GetElapsedTime() < 5.f)
    {
        std::cout << Clock.GetElapsedTime() << std::endl;
        sf::Sleep(0.5f);
    }

return 0;
}

I know this is probably the most basic thing ever . But I have a few questions .

Q1. What is 'sf' ? Is it a class ?
Q2. Why is the operator '::' being used here ?
Q3. Is 'Clock' a class as well?
Q4. what does the 'f' represents in sleep(0.5f)?
Q5. Why can't we use 'getch()' in visual studio? (I am a beginner)

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

I have just started getting into SFML and Visual studio as well

Good. TC is quite old. New IDEs are way better on so many levels.

It is a namespace.

Answer for Q1 would cover this i suppose.

Clock is an object of sf::Clock.
Example

0.5 is double by default. o.5f is float. You might want to read this

I am not sure about that(MSDN link). But do NOT use it unless there is no other way. This is not a standard C function. Use getchar instead

EDIT:
For Q1, since you already seem to have Visual Studio, just hover the mouse over whatever you don't know what it is, in this case, a namespace. The IDE tells you what it is(at least in VC++ 2010). Also, there are plugins like Visual Assist that can be really helpful while reading code.

commented: Thank you so much for the help! +0

As per myk45's post, it's a namespace, in the same way that std is a namespace. If you're not up to speed with namespaces, a quick check in your C++ reference book should tell you what you need to know.