Greetings,
My name is Micah, I live in the US and I am a recent graduate in the field of Computer Science. I have experience in C++, C# and Java but only basic console programs and minor OOP. I have a little database administration experience. I currently work in the electromechanical field but I want to get a career started in programming and software development. The economy is pretty terrible nearly everywhere and most employers are looking for 3-5 years experience for "entry-level" jobs. This leaves me with little choice and opportunity of on the job training. I am looking for a project that I can work on part time after work and a mentor to review my work and give me direction. It can be open an open source project or an unpaid project for the company you work for, so long as it helps me learn and I can add it to my resume. I am self motivated and I ask a lot of questions so that I can always improve. If you are interested or know of any similar opportunities, please respond here or PM me.

Thank you for your time.

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

The best thing that you can do is to think of your own project. You can do basically anything in C++, so you have a wide range of areas that you can choose from. Some things are easier in C++ that others.

I work in mathematical modelling, so I find it easier to build things like simulation and data analysis software than interesting GUI projects. However, for you it might be different. Anyway, you should basically think of something that you think would be useful and then just get going on it. As you said, you have no experience. So at first you will make a whole bunch of mistakes and the thing that you write probably won't be world-beating.