Hi all!

I'm trying to create a program that produces a memory leak. I have a program that looks like it works, but I was wanting to verify whether it actually is causing a memory leak, and that it's not just some other type of issue. It's in C++, which is a language I have very little experience in. I've mostly used C#, but as it is garbage collected I thought that it may be easier to use a different language.

My code is as follows:

void memLeak()
{
  int *data = new int;
  *data = 15;
  int *data1 = new int;
  *data = 15;
  ///
  /// ... all the way up to twenty of these...
  ///
  int *data20 = new int;
  *data = 15;
}

int main(){

int ch = 1;
    int x = 0;
    while (ch == 1)
    {
        while (x < x+1000000)
        {
            memLeak();
            x++;
        }
        x = 0;
    }

return 0;
}

It compiles without any issues, and runs in a blank console. By monitoring it in Task Manager, I can see that it gets up to about 2GB memory usage, but at that point it halts and this message appears:

This application has requested the runtime to terminate it in an unusual way

The process in Task Manager then ends and disappears. My question: is this program causing a memory leak, and then Windows is just terminating it to prevent it from getting to a critical state? Or is my program actually doing something different?

Cheers for any help!

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Every time you call new, you allocate some memory on the heap. Your function memLeak does this twenty times. When the function ends, all the pointers to that memory (the pointers named data1 to data20) are destroyed. The memory is still allocated. You have no way to delete it because you don't have pointers to it, so that's twenty memory leaks every time you call memLeak.