Hi everyone

I'm studying the part about while-statement but I don't understand the explanation in the book really well and the example doesn't work for me so I can't see it with my own eyes how it works.
Can someone explain what the while-statement means and does? Also can you give an example that might work?

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

A while statement repeats something if a confition is true, i'm not a C++ programmer but if you wanted to repeat something forever you could say (this is in psudo code not C++):

x = 1
while(x == 1){
    do something
    }

So a while loop can repeat lines of code if something is true then it will stop if the condition isn't true.

For more info goto: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sPpZCOCVtec

commented: Thank you, the shortes but clearest explanationµ +0

The while statement is a loop that contininues to execute until some condition is met. For example consider vriable named x in this simple example

int x = 0;
while (x < 10)
{
    x++;
}

In the above the loop will continue until the value of x reaches the value of 10. Notice that the value of x is incremented inside the loop. If x was not incremented inside the loop, the loop would be considered an infinite loop because the value of x would never change. So there must be something inside the loop that will eventually make it stop.

Another way to make the loop stop is to use the break statement

int x = 0;
while( x < 10)
{
   if( x > 2)
      break;
   x++;
 }

I know that is kind of a stupid program but it illustrates how to stop the loop early.

That really all there is to a while loop -- nothing more difficult then that.