Is there a data type that can allow a user to input a 25 digit number... because the largest data type for numbers that i know is long long int and uintmax_t which can only store 18 numbers (i'm not sure about this)... because my problem should allow a user to input 25 numbers... If a larger data type is impossible, is there another way??? (I'm a beginner to c++ and i'm really sorry if this question sounds stupid) :)

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

A 64bit integer is the largest native type currently in C++. However you are not the first person to have this problem and the way round it is to use a big integer classes. Classes of this nature can normally hold any number of digits which they do by using a vector of smaller integers to hold the values.

If you want you could try writing one yourself, it is a quite interesting exercise but if you just want to get on with the coding then try looking at Boost or googling "C++ BigInt"

Using a BigInt library is one solution.

Also, what are those digits?

If this is just a very big number, then you might just use a floating-point type instead (float or double) which don't really have an upper-limit (well, they do, but it's like 1e308), and instead, have a limited-precision (about 18 significant digits).