I am using Qt5.2.1 and I made a program that stores some data into a file and then reads the data.

it stores some variables values.

After I restart my program... I want to read those values and re-store the values of those variables... How can I do this? I am fairly new to Qt (programming altogether).

Thank you in advance.

this is some text inside the file -
500 - 1000 : 29
1000 - 1500 : 0
1500 - 2000 : 0
2000 - 2500 : 0

here the 29,0,0,0 are the values and I would like to assign them to the variables.

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

It' just standard c++ ifstream and ofstream. When the program starts, try to open the file, if it success then read it.

@Ancient Dragon I dont just want to read it. I want to read specific pieces of data, and use that

Override << and >> operators in ifstream/ofstream.

@panqnik what do you mean?
I am sorry if I sound a little dumb but just started programming

Unless it's a binary file where you know the offset to the data you want, the only way to read the pieces you need is to read the whole file then extract the data from that. With text files it's impossible to seek to the data because you never know exactly where it's at.

First read a line of the file into std::string, then use string's find() method to search for the colon. That will give you the position within the string where the colon is found. use substr() to extract the rest of the line and do whatever you want with it.

You might also be able to do that with getline() using the colon as the separator.

std::string str;

ifstream in("filename.txt");
while( getline(in,str,':')
{
    getline(str,'\n');
    int var = atoi(str.c_str());
}
commented: So you're saying that it would be easier in a binary file? +0

If your data file has validated data ... all like this:

500 - 1000 : 29
1000 - 1500 : 0
1500 - 2000 : 0
2000 - 2500 : 0

And, if all that you want is the int value at the end,
(or possibly you want to fill a vector of struct with all the data) :