Hello,
I am new to make programs. So far I can just do logical stuff like math in a dos window. I now want to move on to making actual windows programs. Does anyone know how to make a GUI in C++ for a windows application? Any reading online or in a book that I can look up? And I was also wondering once you have your code and your GUI how to make the code become the program?
Any help would be great,
Thanks

Recommended Answers

All 28 Replies

Hello,
I am new to make programs. So far I can just do logical stuff like math in a dos window. I now want to move on to making actual windows programs. Does anyone know how to make a GUI in C++ for a windows application? Any reading online or in a book that I can look up? And I was also wondering once you have your code and your GUI how to make the code become the program?
Any help would be great,
Thanks

http://www.winprog.org/tutorial/ -- That will teach you how to make a GUI for Windows only in window's native GUI implement (API)

To implement your code you need to respond to a user's action, i.e clicks a button then do i = 1+1;

the definitive book to pick up would be charles petzolds "programming windows"

It's easy once you get to know the windows message handling
[I will assume you checked out http://www.winprog.org/tutorial/ it's good]

Hey read everything and if you need more come back here..

You cant compile GUI like dos, you will have to change some options in your compiler or you will get an error on make like:

WinMain() not referneced ..... bla...bla or someting like that

Yeah I read most of the tutorial and havent got a cahnce to finish it yet. I heard that using a library would be an easier way of making a GUI so I found one called fox-toolkit. The only problem is that I dont know how to get it to work or install.
Right now I am using Bloodshed Dev-C++