For my assignment this week, I was supposed to create a program that would read in names from a file, sort them, then output the names sorted. I attempted to do it as a insertion sort, and seemed to have failed miserably... if anybody could point me in the right direction that would be great :D All of my errors appear in the functions I've 'created', starting from strcpy()

Also please point out any poor coding habits. Though I am a noob at this, I realize it doesn't excuse my inability to do things right.

#include<iostream>
#include<cstring>
#include<fstream>

using namespace std;

void sortString(char array[], int num);
void outputString(char array[], int num);

int main() {
	int columns=30, rows=0;
	char filename[30], letter;
	ifstream fin;

cout << "Enter the file name: ";
	cin >> filename;

fin.open(filename);

if (!fin) {
		cout << "Failure to open the file.";
	} else {
		while (fin >> letter) {
			if (letter == '\n')
				rows++;
		}

fin.clear();
		fin.seekg(0,ios::beg);

char name[rows][columns];
		rows = 0;

while (fin.get(name[rows][columns])) {
			rows++;
		}

sortString(name, rows+1);
		outputString(name, rows+1);
	}

return 0;
}

void sortString(char array[], int num) {
	int i, j;
	char check[num][30];

for (i=1; i<num; i++) {
		strcpy(check, array[i][30]);
		for (j=1; j>=1 && (strcmp(check, array[30][j-1])==1); j--) {
			array[j][30] = array[j-1][30];
			array[j-1][30] = check;
		}
	}
}

void outputString(char array[], int num) {
	for (int i=0; i<num; i++) {
		cout << array[i][30] << endl;
	}
}

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

First the code won't compile due to This line:
=> char name[rows][columns];

Have a look at this and this.

Thank you thekashyap for your help. For the next hour or so I tried various ways to do this, and what my main issue seems to be is this:

-if I use strings, I suddenly lose the ability to use strcmp, perhaps there's some side to this function that I'm unaware of?