Just for notes, I'm using VisualStudio 2003.

I'm working on a program that's supposed to make the Muller-Lyer illusion. I've got all of the coding done, but now when I try to run it all I get is a load of errors. First, it starts to compile the program and pops up a box saying, "There were build errors. Continue?" I hit continue anyways, and then it says "Unable to start debugging. Unable to start program "[Blah blah]." The system cannot find the file specified. On top of that, once I close that window, down in the task list window it gives a list of 'error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol' things. I'm really new to C++ and I have no clue of what to do. I'm not asking for a handout, I just need to know what I'm doing wrong. Thanks in advance!

// Program file: mullyer.cpp

// Displays the image that causes the Muller-Lyer illusion

#include "C:\Graphics\graphics.h"

int main()
{
	initGraph();
	return 0;
}

void renderScene()
{
	// Draw the two-headed arrow

moveTo(30, 30);
	lineTo(180, 30);
	moveTo(30, 30);
	lineTo(60, 0);
	moveTo(30, 30);
	lineTo(60, 60);
	moveTo(180, 30);
	lineTo(150, 0);
	moveTo(180, 30);
	lineTo(150, 60);

// Draw the two-tailed arrow

moveTo(30, 100);
	lineTo(180, 100);
	moveTo(30, 100);
	lineTo(0, 70);
	moveTo(30, 100);
	lineTo(0, 130);
	moveTo(180, 100);
	lineTo(210, 70);
	moveTo(180, 100);
	lineTo(210, 130);

// Label the drawing

outText(0, 250, "The Muller-Lyer illusion");

}

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

Well most of us aren't mind readers here so provide some errors for us to look at.

>> #include "C:\Graphics\graphics.h"

replace \ with \\

Might/mightn't solve some of your problems.

Well the short answer to the problem is that you're trying to use a graphics API for a long-dead DOS compiler, and you're using something rather more up to date.

What you do about it is rather more complicated however. For a start, there are many more graphic API's available to you.