Hi, it's me agian... I was asked to do reasearch on how to upload a txt file's data into a MS SQL Database (corresponding columns etc.) I've searched a bit on the internet but don't find what i'm looking for... I just want to ask does anyone have an idea of where i can go and look for information on this. (I'm still very new to C# and ASP.NET programming) (It's so that i can present this topic in class and implement it in my class project) I would really appreciate any suggestions, and i thank you in advance!

Recommended Answers

All 28 Replies

Lol tnx i just got that page before i saw your reply tnx!

Am glad you got your Solution . Mark your Post as Resolved

Kind Regards

Vuyiswa Maseko

i still dont think its solved... XD

What is the Problem ?

Oky i've got it partially working now. My only question now is will i be able to have a autonumber column aswell in the database table so that the autonumber keeps on adding numbers as i upload my data into the table? (i hope so but i know that it will most probably only work with an insert statement? right or wrong?)

I saw that to skip the first row you can simply say FIRSTROW = 2 and so i tried FIRSTCOLUMN = 2 but doesn't work. Here is my code:

BULK INSERT dbo.testTBLUpload 
FROM 'C:\Users\GOgGA\Desktop\upload1.txt'
WITH (
		FIRSTROW = 2,
		FIELDTERMINATOR = '|',
		ROWTERMINATOR = '\n'
	 )

problem stated above :D

O snd sorry for this little bit of SQL code in the C# section on the forum. But this is for my C# class so yea!

Remove the First Column and let SQl add it for you as an identity Column.

Remove the First Column and let SQl add it for you as an identity Column.

hmmm that actually sounds the obvious ... but there wasnt a column in the textfile which has numbers for the autonumber field

Can you Post your TextFile and a Create Script of your SQl Table and i will give you an Exact code to write.

kind Regards

Vuyiswa Maseko

itll be posted now, give a sec plz...

and thanx

CREATE TABLE mytable
(