Hi
I am new to C#.
I have to enable my text box whn the check box is checked.
It would be very helpful if i can get the code for this.

Recommended Answers

All 16 Replies

Hi,

This is pretty simple.

1) Use the CheckedChanged event in Checkbox
2) Use the enabled property of Textbox.

Good luck.

Hi
I was trying to set the check state value of the chechbox to checked.
I dont know Why i am getting an error.
Please find the code below.

public void Checked_Changed(Object sender, EventArgs s)
        {
            MessageBox.Show("Checked");
            CheckBox chkbox=System.Windows.Forms.CheckBox(sender);
            chkbox.Checked = true;

}

Hi,

Here is the simple code;

private void checkBox1_CheckedChanged(object sender, EventArgs e)
        {
            if (checkBox1.Checked)
                textBox1.Enabled = false;
            else
                textBox1.Enabled = true;
        }

Good luck.

if (checkBox1.Checked == true)
            {
                textBox1.Enabled = true;
            }
            else
            {
            }

let me know if you need any other help

Thanks

You can use a one-liner ;)

textBox1.Enabled = checkBox1.Checked;

DIPY -- Are you getting a callstack overflow error? I'm looking at the code you pasted and in the event you are changing the check status of the checkbox that fired the event.

public void Checked_Changed(Object sender, EventArgs s)
        {
            MessageBox.Show("Checked");
            CheckBox chkbox=System.Windows.Forms.CheckBox(sender);
            chkbox.Checked = true;
        }

When you set the checkbox.checked property like that it will fire the event off again.

This is ok, but I have something else in mind, when I check checkbox I need my textbox to be false right away... This code doesnt exetuce that.

textBox1.Enabled = !checkBox1.Checked;
(using exclamation point)
Try it like that for the effect that you want.