I'm pretty new to C#, but I've used winsock in VB a lot in the past, anyways, the problem is, I can't get .GetData to work.

private void axWinsock1_DataArrival(object sender, AxMSWinsockLib.DMSWinsockControlEvents_DataArrivalEvent e)
        {
            string R_DATA;
            axWinsock1.GetData(R_DATA);
        }

Gives error: 'Cannot convert string to ref object'

Or

private void axWinsock1_DataArrival(object sender, AxMSWinsockLib.DMSWinsockControlEvents_DataArrivalEvent e)
        {
            string RSS_DATA;
            int bt;
            bt = e.bytesTotal;
            axWinsock1.GetData (RSS_DATA, String, bt);

}

Gives error: 'String is a type but used like a variable'

What am I doing wrong???

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

I'm pretty new to C#, but I've used winsock in VB a lot in the past, anyways, the problem is, I can't get .GetData to work.

{
            string R_DATA;
            axWinsock1.GetData(R_DATA);
        }

Gives error: 'Cannot convert string to ref object'

Or

{
            string RSS_DATA;
            int bt;
            bt = e.bytesTotal;
            axWinsock1.GetData (RSS_DATA, String, bt);

}

Gives error: 'String is a type but used like a variable'

What am I doing wrong???

Hi, this way:

{
    object objdata;
    axWinsock1.GetData(ref objdata); // i'm not sure of "ref",
      // if doesn't work, cut off
    // then process:
    processData((string)objdata); // void processData(string data)
}

I hope it helps you..