Hey there
I'm quite new at c#, nevertheless
today I tried to make a little application and I ran into a little problem.

Well, I got this form that i want to close when i click the button and then open a new one, not just hiding it.
first I tried this

this.hide();
new form3().Show();

Which worked fine, but the problem was that when i closed the program, form2 was still running in the background, which I don't want it to.

then I tried this

this.close();
new form3().Show();

but then I ran into another problem, when I clicked the button it would quickly open the next form and then exit the whole application.

So what should I do to close that form at the beginning so it doesn't have to run in the background?

Kind Regards
-Jazerix

Recommended Answers

All 17 Replies

If you MUST close the first form then you're doing it in the wrong order.

Instead of using:

this.close();
new form3().Show();

Try using:

new form3().Show();
this.close();

If you close the only active form prior to opening a new form you get the inadvertant side-effect of terminating the application in most cases.

Hope this helps :) Please remember to mark the thread solved once your issue is resolved.

Take a look at the tutorial i wrote. It shows how to show/hide current form when opening a new one. The text portion also outlines how you can close the first form instead of showing it.

When you open a new form it gets added to the Application.OpenForms collection which keeps it alive even if the form that creted it is disposed of (not very tidy in my opinion, but it works). The problem occurs when the form you close is the applications main form (the one called in your Program.cs file as Application.Run(new Form1()); ). If you close the main form the application loop will exit and your program will close. The code i show in my tutorial can be used with ANY form, even the main application form :)

commented: Thanks for your help +0