I'm new to C#.I have created a MySQL database. My problem now is to get the data from the database tables into text boxes and or combo boxes in window forms(visual studio 2010),allow for editing and send the edited values back to the database.

if I select the account_no(primary_key field)...the respective details of the person i.e.firstname,lastname,,age,location,gender...should be posted to the respective text/combo boxes...

I'll appreciate any help/assistance provided

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

I'm new to C#.I have created a MySQL database. My problem now is to get the data from the database tables into text boxes and or combo boxes in window forms(visual studio 2010),allow for editing and send the edited values back to the database.

if I select the account_no(primary_key field)...the respective details of the person i.e.firstname,lastname,,age,location,gender...should be posted to the respective text/combo boxes...

I'll appreciate any help/assistance provided

By, using an appropriate Sql Command u retrieve the Values from the Database using Data Adapter, then store it to a DataSet, now take the every row details of the Dataset to relavant arrays like Firstname[] as string, similarly lastname[], age[],location[],gender[] k. Now is ur main work of placing the values to the textboxes or combobox, if u use textboxes then u can write textbox1.text= Firstname(i) by using a loop or if u use Combobox u can directly write combobox1.Items.Add(Arraylist) (where arraylist is ur Column arrays).

Hope it will help u.

Regards
Kalyan

that gives me the idea of how to go about it.Let me research more...but if I don't ask too much, could you sketch for me the code? it will guide me in my research. I'll be grateful...please!!!

Hope this line of code gives you idea.

I made this as simple as i can.

private void btnClickMe_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)
        {
            SqlConnection Connect = new SqlConnection();