Hello guys, I just started learning C# (having studied VB.NET for the last 2 years) and I was wondering if you could help me out on this problem I have encountered. All I want is start an application using the Process.Start method. In VB.NET, this was pretty easy and straightforward as I needed no "imports" of namespaces (not that I care much about that). Anyway, as far as I'm concerned, this is all the stuff that should be imported (as mentioned in the MSDN article of the method):

using System;
using System.Diagnostics;
using System.ComponentModel;

The funny thing is that after importing System.ComponentModel , it says that ComponentModel does not exist in the System namespace and that I am probably missing an assembly reference of some sort (not really sure what this is). That is only the first part of the problem, though. The other part is that this code will neither work

class MyClass
{
    static void Main()
    {
        Process.Start("IExplore.exe"); // I put IE here as an example only!
    }
}

, because it says that "The name 'Process' does not exist in the current context". Am I missing something? I would really appreciate it if any of you guys explained to me what is wrong here. Thank you in advance.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Start is not a static method so you have to create a Process object first:

static void Main() {
    Process myProcess = new Process();
    myProcess.Start("IExplore.exe");
}

You'll probably want to play with the StartInfo properties, also

First of all, thank you very much for your help. I cannot seem to make it work, though. While debugging, the following error is thrown: "The type or namespace name 'Process' could not be found (are you missing a using directive or an assembly reference?)"