Hi!

Im new on this forum.. so Hello to all :)

Im a beginner in programming WCF.Im a student, on our faculty, we get a new task to make a project in WCF.I hope that you guys could help me a little bit..I dont know how to start.I watched some toturials on youtube and so on..

So here is my task:

Create Web services using Windows Communication Foundation framework - WCF.

In Visual Studio select the WCF Service Application project and add a new service, provided with a service, operations and data contract. The service must have parameters and return values ​​in the form of objects.

Create a synchronous and asynchronous client to initiate service. Place a full solution that covers both service and client.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Well, if this is to be a permanent WCF application, you will need to determine how you're hosting it. Is it to be self-hosted or attached to IIS?

No its not gonna be permanent.. its must be self hosted i think.Beacuse our profesor just check if program working properly.

So, I guess we don't need to worry too much about elegance.

After you've created your base project (and compiled it), you will need to create a class and store some data in objects of that class for the service to return.

You can use a class like this inside your "Service1.svc.cs" file right after the declaration of the namespace

public class CPerson
   {
      public string strFirstName { get; set; }
      public string strLastName { get; set; }

public CPerson()
      {
         strFirstName = "";
         strLastName = "";
      }

public CPerson(string strFirstName, string strLastName)
      {
         this.strFirstName = strFirstName;
         this.strLastName = strLastName;
      }
   }

2) Populate a static dictionary, array, or list of those objects right inside your Service1 class.

3) create a public method IN your service 1 class that returns 1 of those based on either position or value