I am very new to thread. However I would like to make 2 threads, Thread A and Thread B. When a button is clicked Thread A starts and so does Thread B. Thread B shows a loading image and disables users from clicking any buttons whilst Thread A executes some logic code. Thread B continues to run untill the logic in thread A is executed and thus Thready A is stopped.

Is it better to use a single or two thread in this case? How can I do this?

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

By default there's already a thread that handles the program's GUI (window), which in your case could be the Thread B - so you can directly use this one.

To run a method inside a thread you could use something like this:

Thread threadA = new Thread(new ThreadStart(someMethod));  //'someMethod' runs in threadA 
threadA.Start();

Then you can use Invoke() inside Thread A to update the program's interface (because you can only do this from the UI thread, otherwise you get an exception):

Invoke((MethodInvoker) otherMethod); //'otherMethod' is called from the UI thread, use it to disable buttons, showing images, etc.

can you please explain further how the invoke works?

Invoke is used to execute a method in the UI thread even if everything else runs on the worker thread. It takes as an argument a delegate to the method you want to call (what I wrote up there is a short version). When Invoke is called from the worker thread, a message is sent to the UI thread, that tells it to execute that delegate which you supplied as an argument.

Basically, it works as a "portal" between the worker thread and the UI thread.

I will say, while the main thread for the form is there, I personally don't care to use it because it locks up the form, and you can't move it or alt+tab in and out easily, ext.

Also if you are still puzzled about Invoke look at it this way.