Hi there

I've had a bee in my bonnet for a little while now and I've decided to get the ball rolling on creating my own web-based RPG game. But I'm not sure what the best route is with a programming language. I have some basic php knowledge and I've tried to find some sources regarding the best language to use but nothing has stood out predominantly. I know PHP does all the work server-side and I'm thinking that it might not work well if the server has a lot of people playing the game.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Recommended Answers

All 20 Replies

First thing you need to figure out is how the RPG will work online. Realtime? Turn-based? Are we talking text-based or will it have 2D scrolling maps? Think about the design and what you want it to turn out as, then decide which language would be more suitable, as 'rpg' can be such a broad range of games.

Hi Phaelax

The game will be text-based. No real time functionality. There will be turn-based functionality whereby a player will have x amount of time to retaliate (e.g 30mins). The game will be a fantasy one where each player has their own character. Essentially I'd like to create a pvp(player versus player) and pve(player versus enviroment) enviroment text-based game. Can you give me an idea of what languages would be good for certain situations regarding functionality.

My guess would be that C++ would be your best bet for just about anything as far as text-based games goes, although that's a matter of one noobie's opinion ;). I remember playing around with something called WinSock that allowed connections to be made between two computers (maybe more than 2 but I'm not sure) over a LAN or the internet. If you've never done any C++ programming it would take some time and effort to learn the basics before anything else, but a text-based game is a fairly easy learning project.