Hi, first post here.
I've just taught myself C++ by reading a couple of books.
Even though I haven't really created any of my own programs yet, I feel that I 'get' C++ and programming.
I want to my first program to be a video game, or something that just exhibits the very basic concepts of a game (like Atari style game), something simple.
From what I've dug up on the internet, Allegro might be a good library(?), but all I've ever used is Windows. Can I even use something like Allegro on Windows? I mean, sure the game itself might run on Windows, but can I write the code in Windows and still use Allegro?
Also, do you advise that I stay away from Allegro since I am a beginner. If so, what should i do to write a simple game. Preferable a rpg.

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

Hi and welcome to the business - and welcome to DaniWeb :)

Well I hear a lot of newbies go with Allegro, but 2 years ago when I first time wanted to make a video game, I found Allegro confusing - maybe it was just me, but I never got it running.

I'm very satisfied with the Ogre library (www.ogre3d.org) - It's a fully featured crossplatform rendering library, that means it is advanced. They have very friendly forums - and some beginners tutorials I believe.

I started with something more simple than a video game though, I did some useful applications for my own needs - Developed almost exact copies of some simple software that I didn't want to buy for a few dollars.

Also made a chat program to chat with some friends, was fun :P

Anyway, if you want some help getting started, I could assist you and explain how to set up your environment over IM? :) *limited offer :o*

Also, I just found that I forgot to answer your questions...
I believe Allegro is cross platform, so should work under Windows..
To make an RPG you have to sit down and write some flowcharts... Think of your code like a big company...