Okey, so since I was a little kid I allways would like to make my own game ! and I allways liked to fix gameservers, Teams in games like Clans and Guilds and so on. Now to the point, me and my friend are going to educate us to make our OWN game. We thought about what the game will look like and stuff, I can tell you it'll be a multiplayer shooter game , but different from the others.
I don't want to tell about the game so detailed due to that someone may copy it. Well the thing I was wondering was , What language should we learn?? , should I learn 1 language and he 1 , or should both pick the same language? , Well , I think c++ is the best option , but I'm not sure ! , I'm a beginner and would like to know what the best language for making games is.
I guess c++ is a good start atleast? cause don't all programs use c++? and what's the difference with Java and c++? , well alot of questions but I'm really on to making a game , cause me and my friend talked about it for a very long time !
The school we're planning to go in educates some basics in c++ and web development the first year then the 2nd and 3rd you can choose what programming language you want to use so what should me and my friend choose (:?

Recommended Answers

All 20 Replies

C++ would be a good language to learn but its a big jump into the deep end (or can be for beginners) i would suggest learning java or c# to start with then once you have learnt that move onto c++.

I would suggest that you both learn the same language that way you can help each other learn and could do a joint project together. there would be no benifit to you both learning diffrent langauges.

I can only suggest you pick the language that you feel most comftable with for your finaly year. dont pick a new language if its going to affect your grades but make sure your going to learn from it.

I am working on a game myself with a couple of buddies... here's what I think would help.