Hello all, very first post here so don't be surprised if i ask too many stupid questions and whatnot :P

Firstly I should point out that I am an Artist and really dont know much about anything computerish apart from photoshop and illustrator. Animation and 3D modeling does however look very nice and appealling but for the moment IF i can do it it will strictly be as a hobby, i have no desire to go around trying to make full fledged computer games or animated movies.

Mkay so basically what I would like to know is can you construct 3D models without programming knowledge? Or rather, do I need to go out and take a course in programming to make 3D models or can i just pick it up as I go along?

Is 3D animation/modelling actually programming based or there are tools out there that enable you to have literally no programming knowledge but still create models using a sort of virtual sculpting program etc?

BASICALLY is 3D modeling an elite skill that only high level programmers can tackle or can anyone jump in and give it a go?

I did google the subject and seems there is alot of software out there for it, any particular recommendations for an Easy to Use one to get started?

But yes Id like some advice before i go out and blow x$ on this software only to find that it is way way over my head and I cant use it or make any sense of it at all. Poor Arts student :$

So thanks guys any input would be greatly appreciated!

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

>can you construct 3D models without programming knowledge?
Yes. The art of creating 3D models has little or nothing to do with the actual programming of a game that incorporates the 3D models into it.