I am new to programming, so please accept my apologies if this question is simple.

I have a class (say called Student).
I want to store the name of the student (name) and the course (course)

I have declared some variables in my Student class:

private String name = " ";    //Holds the data for name
        private String course = " ";  //Holds the data for course

I have declared a constructor for my Student class:

Student (String studentName, String studentCourse)
        {
            name = studentName;
            course = studentCourse;
        }//end constructor Student

I have declared some methods in my Student class:

//This method returns a String with the contents of the variable 
//name to whatever object calls it
        public String getName ( )
        {
            return name;
        }//end method getName

//This method allows the contents of name to be changed 
//to store a different String value, should that be required
        public void setName (String studentName)
        {
            name = studentName;           
        }//end method setName

public String getCourse ( )
        {
            return course;
        }//end method getCourse

public void setCourse (String studentCourse)
        {
            course = studentCourse;
        }//end method setCourse

In another method called hashCode, I change the name varable in my Student class to upperCase i.e.

public int hashCode (int numStudents)
        {
             int hash = 0;
             int subtotal = 0;
             int maxNum = 0;

//Convert name to upper case
            name = name.toUpperCase ( );

And then use the upper case name variable to calculate my hash code.

What I would like to know is this the best way of doing things? Or should I be using the setName method to change the name variable to upper case?

Also, does anyone know of any online resources where I can look at the set/get methods? (My course notes are very limited).

Thanking you in advance.