Hi,
I'm new to this Java world, and just can't figure out this problem. After I use nextInt or nextDouble, and try to use nextLine, it won't work unless I put nextLine twice. What's the problem there, and what would be the good way to handle this?

Just gave a code to illustrate a simple example I can understand.

import java.util.Scanner;

public class nextLineProblem {

public static void main(String[] args) {
		Scanner sc = new Scanner(System.in);
		System.out.println("Type in something for line 1");
		String line1 = sc.nextLine();

System.out.println("Type an integer for line 2");
		int line2 = sc.nextInt();

System.out.println("Type in something for line 3");
		String line3 = sc.nextLine();

System.out.println("Line1: " + line1 + "\n" + "Line2: " + line2 + "\n" + "Line3:" + line3);

}

}

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

The reason it gives you trouble is because when the user enters an integer then hits enter, two things have just been entered - the integer and a "newline" which is \n. The method you are calling, "nextInt", only reads in the integer, which leaves the newline in the input stream. But calling nextLine() does read in newlines, which is why you had to call nextLine() before your code would work. You could have also called next(), which would also have read in the newline.

commented: Smart explanation. Couldn't find it. +4

Just change the delimiter.

Scanner in = new Scanner(System.in);
in.useDelimiter("\n");

Thanks, now I understand what's going on now and how to deal with it when using the Scanner class.
Just left pondering if it's a bug or a feature :)

A new problem came to mind today.
It's easy to make a way around this problem if I know I'm going to have it, but what if it's unknown that I'll have a nextLine() after nextInt() , how would I be able to deal with the problem then?
For instance if there's a random function involved. Would I just have to scrap the nextLine() and go with something else?