Hi. I am new to Java and am trying to figure out a homework problem. It is a password verifier with the following criteria:

• at least 6 characters long
  • conatin at least one uppercase and one lowercase letter
  • should have at least one digit

This is what I have so far - but am not sure how to loop from letter to letter in the user's input.

import java.util.Scanner;

public class PasswordDemo
{
        public static void main(String[] args)
        {
                String input;  // To hold input

// Create a Scanner object for keyboard input.
                Scanner keyboard = new Scanner(System.in);

// Get a password.
                System.out.print("Enter a password: ");
                input = keyboard.nextLine();

// Check the password.
                if (!PasswordVerifier.isValid(input))
                        System.out.println("Invalid password.");
                else
                        System.out.println("Valid password.");
        }
}

class PasswordVerifier
{
	static String str;

public static isValid(String str)
	{
		//I am not sure what to put here so that this method works right to return the value to the main method.

}

private static boolean hasLength(String str)
	{
	boolean goodSoFar = true;

if (str.length() >=6)
		goodSoFar = false;
		System.out.println("The password is not long enough.  Try again.");
	return goodSoFar;
	}

private static boolean hasUpperCase(String str)
	 {
		 int i = 0;

while (goodSoFar && i < 6)
		 {
			 if (!Character.isUpperCase(str.charAt(i)))
				 goodSoFar = false;
			 	System.out.println("The password must have at least one UpperCase letter.  Try again.");
			 i++;
		 }

return goodSoFar;
	 }

private static boolean hasLowerCase(String str)
	 {
		int i = 0;

{
			if (!Character.isLowerCase(str.charAt(i)))
				goodSoFar = false;
				System.out.println("The password must have at least one lower case letter.  Try again.");
			i++;
		}

return goodSoFar;
	 }

private static boolean hasDigit(String str)