hi ,
I am new to java.Can anyone what is the different between the following code for the java String Declaration.

import java.io.*;
import java.util.*;

class Sample1
{
	public static void main(String args[])throws IOException
		{
			String str="First String";
			String Str1=new String("Second String");
			System.out.println("The variable is "+str);
			System.out.println("The variable is "+Str1);
		}
}

Thank you,

With Regards,
Prem

Recommended Answers

All 16 Replies

Literal Strings are "interned" and exist only once regardless of how many times they are used in a program. new String(...) creates a String that is not interned and is completely independent to anything else (and doing it with a literal string in the constructor means that two string get constructed, the interned literal string and the object created by the call to new).

commented: Good knoledge +6

They are the same. The second version is the universal way of creating a new instance of any class, The first version is a special case for Strings, just for convenience.
The same thing applies to creating an array froma literal, as in
int[] arr = {1,2,3};

Literal Strings are "interned" and exist only once regardless of how many times they are used in a program. new String(...) creates a String that is not interned and is completely independent to anything else (and doing it with a literal string in the constructor means that two string get constructed, the interned literal string and the object created by the call to new).

I may be wrong... but I believe that the optimisation of string storage by only storing a value once is a deep optimisation that applies to all strings, regardless of how they are created. There's an old chestnut that goes like this:

String a = "hello fred";
String b = "hello";
a = null;

will the String object "hello fred" be garbage collected?