Hi

I'm new to java, and I'm trying to make a very basic game.
The problem is that i have 3 classes that cooperates and I can't get one of the values from class "Board.java" to "gp1.java".

In Board i have a button that "rolls the dice" x2 and adds the values.
In gp1 i make a picture move around (game marker or whatever it's called), but I want it to move depending on the dice.

Some of the code of "Board":

public class Board extends JPanel implements ActionListener {

private int dice;

JButton button;
        TextField text = new TextField(26);
        private String str;

public int no1, no2;

public Board(){

button = new JButton("Roll the dice");
        button.addActionListener(new MyAction());
        add(button);

}

public class MyAction implements ActionListener {
        public void actionPerformed(ActionEvent ae) {
        str = ae.getActionCommand();

if(str.equals("Roll the dice")) {

no1 = (int)(Math.random()*6) + 1;
        no2 = (int)(Math.random()*6) + 1;
        dice = no1 + no2;

text.setText("You rolled " + no1 + " and " + no2 + " which equals: " + dice);
        text.disable();
}
}
}
        public int getDice() {
        return dice;
}

}

I get the textfield to work, and it shows the dice numbers

Some of the code of gp1:

public class gp1 {

public int dajs;

public void dajsen() {
        Board dajse = new Board();
        dajs = dajse.getDice();
}

}

I just want "dajs" in gp1 to contain the "dice" value from Board

I know that I'm doing it totally wrong, but i need help :/

Recommended Answers

All 17 Replies

Since you're assigning dajs=dajse.getDice() in the constructor, it'll have the value that dajse.dice contained whenever you instantiated the gp1 class.
That is, whenever you have a line like gp1 foo = new gp1(); it'll get the value of dice at that moment. Has the user rolled the dice at that point? If not, it'll be zero.