Hi,

I am new to mysql and have got a problem. I have managed to INSERT into the database and and check from it (a simple login system) but now after i login i want to copy all the data from that row and throw it into an arraylist.

I tried something like this to simply get a field from the db and put it in a local variable, but its returning the error : No ResultSet was produced.

ResultSet st = statement.executeQuery("select `clientname` into @name from clients where username='" + Login.username + "' and password = '" + Login.password + "'");

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Is that your message or is that a real exception message?

Also, do not cobble together statements like this. Use a PreparedStatement and its set... methods to include the username and password or you are just asking for problems.

I can't say anything about that "into @name" syntax since I don't recognise it, but MySQL does do some strange things, so who knows.

One thing I do know about MySQL, though, is that if that password field is a "password" field and not just a char/varchar/text field, then MySQL will have digested that password and a digest string will exist in that field, not the actually entered text.

I just want to get a field called "ClientName" from the database where the username is "username" (getting that from a textfield) and put this "ClientName" in a variable to use in the program. I dont think its complicated but I have only been doing sql for a few days and this is all i have learnt from the web.

Thanks

Okay? And that stops you from posting the exception and searching for the term "PreparedStatement", how?

ok man forget it ... i figured it out... and when answering a newbie's post please try going down to their level and explain what you say not pretending anyone understands you.

Thanks anyway.. cheers