Hi there, first post!

First off, I apologise for asking such a basic question, but I am new to Java (done VB before..) and was wondering if you could please help me out with a little problem I'm having!

I have a method that reads data from a text file, uses a StringTokenizer, and puts the information in to an ArrayList called StudentArray

public void readFile()
	{
		ArrayList<String> studentArray = new ArrayList<String>();		//Declares new ArrayList to contain string values
		try
		{
			BufferedReader in = new BufferedReader(new FileReader("/Users/John/Resources/Teech/studentList.txt"));	//New bufferedReader and fileReader
			String theText = in.readLine();		//Get next line from file

do
			{				
				StringTokenizer st = new StringTokenizer(theText,","); 		//Splits the text by comma
				int tokenNum = 0;		//Delcares tokenNum variable, initialised at zero
				do
				{
					String thisToken = st.nextToken();		//Sets current token as the next token in the file

System.out.println("Token "+tokenNum+": "+thisToken);	//Prints out current token information to terminal

studentArray.add(tokenNum, thisToken);		//Adds thisToken to the ArrayList at position tokenNum

System.out.println("The content of studentArray is: " + studentArray);			//Prints out the current contents of studentList
				    System.out.println("The size of an studentArray is: " + studentArray.size());	 	//Prints out the current size of studentList

tokenNum++;		//Increments tokenNum for next entry
				} 
				while (st.hasMoreTokens());

theText = in.readLine(); 		//Get next line from file
				System.out.println(theText);	
			} 
			while (theText != null);			    	
		}
		// Catches any error conditions
		catch (IOException e)
		{
			System.err.println ("Unable to read from file");
			System.exit(-1);
		}
	}

What I wish to do is now create a method to do a simple linear search of this array, so I created a separate method called linearSearch() and tried the following code

public void linearSearch()
	{