Hi, I am a beginner so bear with me. I have an assignment in which I have to create an array with numbers and then have a loop with condition to check in which order the user has inputed the numbers. Asc=1, desc=-1, other=0. This loop isn't working, i know it's wrong but can't figure out what to do, I have experienced with lots of options still nothing works for me.

import java.util.Scanner;
public class Arrange {
	public static void main (String[] args){
		Scanner input= new Scanner(System.in);
		double numbers;
		double [] arr=new double[5];
		for (int i=0; i<5; i++){
			System.out.println("Enter your numbers ");
			numbers= input.nextDouble();
			arr[i]=numbers;

}
			for(int i=0; i<4; i++){
				for (int j=1; j<5; j++){

if (arr[i]<arr[j]){
				System.out.println ("1");

}else if (arr[i]>arr[j]){
				System.out.println ("-1");

}else{
				System.out.println("0");

}}
		}
	}
}

Thanks!

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Are you getting any errors or is the program not running as you expect it to ?

I am not getting any errors, it runs smoothly but the problem is that it repeats the (1,-1 or 0) as many times as the loop itself and it seems to compare each couple of numbers alone and not the whole list at once.

but the problem is that it repeats the (1,-1 or 0) as many times as the loop itself

It is because that you have included the print statement in the for loop and in each iteration it would print so. That is your logic.

HOwever if you need to see the ordering of the entered numbers you should make use of a temporary variable and handl this and the printing should be done after exiting the loop.

It is because that you have included the print statement in the for loop and in each iteration it would print so. That is your logic.

HOwever if you need to see the ordering of the entered numbers you should make use of a temporary variable and handl this and the printing should be done after exiting the loop.