I am a very new java student.I need to write a program ask the users to enter the series numbers separated by commas, with the valid input is : 23,45,90,4,5
The program should calculate and display the sume of all the numbers.

I had written the code. I knew it is not a good code but I did not know undertand much about String ...Could someone please help? Thanks much.

My first class code is :

import java.util.StringTokenizer;
public class ClassNumber
 {
   private String series;
 // The construc accepts a string containning series
  public ClassNumber(String numberStr)
  {
	// Create a StringTokenizer object.
	StringTokenizer strTokenizer = new StringTokenizer(numberStr,"/");
	series = strTokenizer.nextToken();
  }

// getSeries method returns the month field.
  public String getSeries()
  {
	 return series;
  }
}
public class TestClassNumber

{

public static void main (String[] args)
  {
  // create a string contataing series numbers
  String series = "23,45,90,4,5";

TestClassNumber sr = new TestClassNumber (series);
  //Display the component of the series

System.out.println(" Input a series of numbers separated by commas:" + series);

}
 }

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

I don't get what you need help with . pass the value to ur function and make some extra code to add the values...

Well, ur code looks clueless. But congratz! u have made a good choice of using StringTokenizer for parsing the text. But do u know how the String tokenizer works?
Read here properly: http://download.oracle.com/javase/1.4.2/docs/api/java/util/StringTokenizer.html
The second argument to the StrinTokenizer Constructor is the delimiter which in your case is the comman (,) not a fwd slash.
and the series String object in ur ClassNumber class (based on what uve coded) will contain only the first string.
Ok. Since u havent done anything at all. Ill give u a small pseudocode that u can follow.

1. Get the String
2. Pass it to your class