I've done some searching, and it seems a few people have asked similar questions, but none of them were quite what I was looking for.

I need to be able to read lines of code from a .txt file, and then execute them in Java.

Or, if that's impossible, would there be a way to convert that text file into another file type, and then run the code from that?

The code in this text file is going to be user created with another program, so I want to keep this as simple as possible for them... if it's even possible. Also, I'm fairly new to programming, especially java, so please try to make it simple for me too. Haha

Recommended Answers

All 37 Replies

I need to be able to read lines of code from a .txt file, and then execute them in Java.

Yes, you could use classes that implement the JavaCompiler interface to compile a java program within your running java program and have the class files created available for using in your program.

It's not simple.

What "other program" is generating the code? Why the need for two programs?

What "other program" is generating the code? Why the need for two programs?

It's a mod for Minecraft. My program allows you to draw the building outside of the game, then save the code for that building into a text file, and then Minecraft will run the code from that text file to create your building in the game.

If Minecraft is executing the code, then all your program needs to do is write the correct instructions to a text file and send it along. Right?

Why would you need to execute it?

Member Avatar for timmy568

Sorry im no help, but if you do find a way to do this, message me :D

If Minecraft is executing the code, then all your program needs to do is write the correct instructions to a text file and send it along. Right?

Why would you need to execute it?

I may be using the wrong terminology I guess.

I just need to place the code from the text file into minecraft, and then then let minecraft do it's thing like normal.