HI im a student and our professor asked us to convert a number into word:

example:
input= "1"
output="one"

i need to have numbers from 1-10,001
so my program will end up very long if i only use if else statement i know that there are other methods other than this please help me thank you

Recommended Answers

All 70 Replies

create two arrays
one containing 1, 2, 3, ... , 19
and one containing one, two, three, ..., nineteen
then create the same kind of arrays, that 'll deal with the decimals:
twenty, thirty, ...
do the same for hundreds and thousands
and use indexes to find the correct matches using the indices of these arrays.

create two arrays
one containing 1, 2, 3, ... , 19
and one containing one, two, three, ..., nineteen
then create the same kind of arrays, that 'll deal with the decimals:
twenty, thirty, ...
do the same for hundreds and thousands
and use indexes to find the correct matches using the indices of these arrays.

sir thank u but..its a bnit hard for me to understand because literally i am new to java. im sorry sir but can u elaborate it a little more? thank you

Are you at least familiar with arrays?

Here's a link from the API
Arrays

according to the forum-rules: no.
you first have to try by yourself, and come back with any logical or syntax errors you get. we're vollunteering to help you overcome your problems, but we won't write your code from scratch.

Are you at least familiar with arrays?

Here's a link from the API
Arrays

thanks ..but even if i use array does that mean that i have to do these like 10,000 times? is there no other way? because ill be doing a program that will output word till "ten thousand and one"

thank you for being patient to me :)

no
about
19 + 7 would suffice for the numbers, and a few extra for the words linked to them

according to the forum-rules: no.