Hi folks,

I'm new here and looking for a simple but educational&interesting idea for my CS project. It's my first year and we'll work in teams, so it should not be too difficult to handle, but also not so simple. I'm waiting for your suggestions.

Recommended Answers

All 14 Replies

how about a 'random project generator'? or a search engine searching the forum for 'project ideas'?

here's a short summary of why (maybe) we shouldn't give you too much ideas:

1. we do not know what you have studied/still study, what techniques you've seen and which you haven't.
2. we do not know what your teacher expects of your project.
3. part of your assignment is: finding and deciding on a project you are confident
you can make with the knowledge you have
4. we don't know what you're interested in. sure, we can give you topics enough, but if it's something we think is interesting, but you think is lame as hell, you won't stay motivated to work on it.
5. we don't know the time-limit you have, or what effort you are willing/able to put in it. we could give you an assignment that might take you three months to write decently, but if your deadline is in a few weeks, or if due to other assignments, you don't have more than two weeks to work on it, well ... you see why that might be a problem, right?

seriously, this list could go on and on. best thing is for you and your fellow students to choose something you can and want to write within the limitations you have.

commented: Agreed +16
Member Avatar for hfx642

Do a project that would be usefull or beneficial to you.
You would have more interest to complete it and do a good job.
Possibly, in the future, make it into a marketable product.
If not... It's still a learning experience.

CS102 Possible Project Ideas