This basic client server program compiles fine in eclipse IDE but I keep getting a zero back from server!!! I'm new to all this client server stuff by the way.

package echo3;

import java.io.*;
import java.net.*;

class Client
 {
 public static void main(String argv[]) throws Exception
  {

int outgoingdata = 0;
   int incomingData = 0;

BufferedReader inFromUser = new BufferedReader( new InputStreamReader(System.in));
   Socket clientSocket = new Socket("localhost", 4444);
   DataOutputStream outToServer = new DataOutputStream(clientSocket.getOutputStream());
   BufferedReader inFromServer = new BufferedReader(new InputStreamReader(clientSocket.getInputStream()));

System.out.println("Input a Number:");
   outgoingdata = inFromUser.read();
   outToServer.writeInt(outgoingdata + '\n');

incomingData = inFromServer.read();
   System.out.println("FROM SERVER: " + incomingData);
   clientSocket.close();

}
}

package echo3;

import java.net.*;
import java.io.*;

class Server
 {
  {
    int incomingData = 0;
    int outgoingData = 0;
    ServerSocket welcomeSocket = new ServerSocket(4444);

while (true)
     {
        Socket connectionSocket = welcomeSocket.accept();
        BufferedReader inFromClient =
           new BufferedReader(new InputStreamReader(connectionSocket.getInputStream()));
        DataOutputStream outToClient = new DataOutputStream(connectionSocket.getOutputStream());

incomingData = inFromClient.read();
        outgoingData = incomingData;
        outToClient.writeInt(outgoingData);
     }
  }
}

Also this is my typical console output:

Input a Number:
FROM SERVER: 0

It's always zero but it should be the same as what the user entered as input, in this case output should be 5!!!

Thanks in advance

-Gary

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

Just add lots of print statements to see where that value is going missing.