hello im new in java and i have to do simple program and can read from txt file

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

What does the text file look like?

Member Avatar for joankim

You should use the scanner class for that.
First import java.util.*;

As you are new to java, I'll give you a sample of how to do it. Normally, you would want to declare it before your constructor. It needs to hava a varible name that can be anything. I always use "in". Also, you want you text file to be in the folder where all the files in your program are saved. And this must be done inside a try{}catch{}
The example will take ints and store them in an arraylist.

Look here for info about command in the scanner class: http://docs.oracle.com/javase/6/docs/api/java/util/Scanner.html

java.util.Scanner;
public class classname{
Scanner in;
ArrayList<Integer> list = new ArrayList<Integer>();

public classname{
try{
in = new Scanner(new File(filename.txt));
while(in.hasNext()){
list.add(in.nextInt());
    }
}catch(Exception e){System.out.print("Error");}
}
}

thanks.. it helps me alot .. is it okey if i seperate the string and int in 2d array so i can calculate the value in each column. because from the string i have to count how many time it have be write and from the int i have to calculate the value

Firstly, JamesCherrill reminded me that it might be a good idea not to take shortcuts, and teach you the best way to do this. I tend to be more precice in my own code, but you should know the right way to do it. In catching, you should use catch

(Exception e){System.out.print(e.printStackTrace());}

Instead. So you will know why you got an error. For your both strings and values in the same array index, I would go with ArrayList instead. I'll show you a quick example of how to do that. I use ArrayLists containing Items. Declared like this:

ArrayList<Item> list = new ArrayList<Item>();