Hi I am just starting to learn about java.I am trying to calculate BMI of an individual using the JOptionPane.showInputDialog method who I am asking to enter 4 things first name,last name,height in inches and weight in pounds. I want to show the BMI using JOptionPane.showMessageDialog method showing their full name and BMI.What am I doing wrong ?

import javax.swing.JOptionPane;

public class P1 {

public static void main(String[] args) {

String FirstName = JOptionPane.showInputDialog("Enter your First name");
        String LastName = JOptionPane.showInputDialog("Enter your Last name");
        double height = JOptionPane.showInputDialog("Enter your height in inches");
        int inches = Integer.parseInt(height);
        int metre= inches*0.0254;

double weight =JOptionPane.showInputDialog("Enter your weight in pounds");
        int pounds = Integer.parseInt(weight);
        int kilo= pounds/2.2;

String response=
                "kilo"*sqrt"metre" +"FirstName"+"Lastname"

JOptionPane.showMessageDialog(null, response);
    }

}

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

I want to show the BMI using JOptionPane.showMessageDialog method showing their full name and BMI.What am I doing wrong ?

Can you explain what the program does that is "wrong"?

Try this:

double results = kilo * sqrt(metre);
        String response= results + " " + FirstName + " " + Lastname;

Hi by wrong I mean this is the error when i try to run my java application
Type mismatch: cannot convert from String to double

The method parseInt(String) in the type Integer is not applicable for the arguments
(double)
Type mismatch: cannot convert from double to int
The method sqrt(int) is undefined for the type P1
at P1.main

The posted error messages left off the source code line numbers.

parseInt(String) in the type Integer is not applicable for the arguments (double)

The parseInt() method requires a String for its arg, not a double. What data are you trying to convert to an int?