Hello DaniwWeb Members :)

I'm a fairly new programmer and I'm kinda embarressed to ask this question considering that the answer is probably blatently obvious.

So forgive my ignorance :)

But here goes,

I have a String called "Ctype", It is relevant to my combobox which I created. My combobox works perfectly fine, and I can get it to work without using a "JButton" but I would like to use one.

If I selected one of my options in the Combobox, it will instantly follow the instruction instead of waiting until I pressed "Next".

I changed the code around abit and tried to get it to work, but unfortunatly I am unable to use the String I defined in the private "Ctype" combobox class in the button's private class.

Is there anyway I can use the String from one private class in another?
Or is there a way to refactor Netbean's generated code to change it from it's default "private void ....." to a public one? :)

Here is the code <3 :)

private void transportNextActionPerformed(java.awt.event.ActionEvent evt) {

JComboBox CargoType = (JComboBox) evt.getSource();
        String Ctype = (String) CargoType.getSelectedItem();

}

private void priceNextActionPerformed(java.awt.event.ActionEvent evt) {

if (Ctype.contentEquals(Kids)) {
            Prices.setVisible(false);
            HowManyChildren.setVisible(true);
            HowFar.setVisible(false);
            Transport.setVisible(false);
        } else {
            Prices.setVisible(false);
            HowManyChildren.setVisible(false);
            HowFar.setVisible(false);
            Transport.setVisible(false);
        }

}

As you can see, I can't use the String :/

Btw,

I defined "Kids" at the top of the code

String 
       Kids = "Children",
      Items = "Goods";

String TypeC;

Please help me,
Will Greatly Be Appreciated.

Brian

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

if you want to get to get a value from an Object, from one class to another, use getters.