Hi all,

I'm new to this site so please forgive my ignorances. I am a beginner at Java and I've been assigned to do a project about an Airline Reservation System. So the objectives required are:

Reserve the ticket
Cancel/Confirm Reservation
Book the ticket
Change / Cancel Booking
Waiting List
List all passengers / Search passenger
Show / Search flight schedule

Support different types of seats (First Class, Business and Economy)
Seating plan should be provided for users to selectthe seats. Different airplanes
have different seating plan. You should have at least 3 types of airplanes
Frequent Flyer Program. Passengers have different priorities.

Now I don't even know how to start with a project. Books aren't helping much and I also don't have lots of time to finish it. So I was hoping if somebody can point me to the right direction and show any efficient way/books to start. I know this is not the best way to do it but I have nothing else to consider

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

Is this a school project? We won't write your code for you, but we will help you sort it out if you make a reasonable attempt at solving the problem.

Your first problem is to model the system. Java is object-oriented. Before you even get into the code, think about the entities you need, such as Ticket, Reservation, WaitingList, Passenger, FlightSchedule, etc. These are your classes. Then, think about the behavior of each class, and write in plain language how each behavior should work. Example for Ticket - reserve the ticket, book the ticket, etc. Example for Reservation - confirm the reservation, cancel the reservation, etc. Finally, think about how each class of item reacts with the others. Methods from one class will likely interact with other classes.