hi everyone,
i am very new in java. can anyone help me to solve the following problem:

A school conducts a 100 mark exam for its student and grades them as follows:
Grade:
Grade A: Marks>75
Grade B: 75>Marks>60
Grade C: 60>Marks>50
Grade D: 50>Marks>40

Write ajava program to calculate the grades for a student, using if..else statement. use some given value to test the code.

thank you,
regards,
shantuli

macatangay.mharygrace commented: (Y) +0

Recommended Answers

All 39 Replies

I'm in a very giving mood today ;) Usually I don't just give the answer to homework problems outright like I am now. I'd rather see some effort put in on your end. So consider yourself very lucky. The following is the pseudocode for the program. Think about what each line means, and then translate it into Java syntax line by line.

input student's grade
if grade < 100 AND grade > 75 { student got an A }
else if grade < 75 AND grade > 60 { student got a B }
else if grade < 60 AND grade > 50 { student got a C }
else if grade < 50 AND grade > 40 { student got a D }
else { student got an F } // didn't fit into any of the above scenerios, so must be an F
print to screen what the student got

Hi shantuli,why not try this code as well.Have a lovely day.
Bobinson.

class Testy
{
   byte score;

Testy()
{
score=78;
}

public static void main(String arg[])

{
  Testy tst=new Testy();
   tst.processGrades();
}

public void processGrades()
{

if
(score >=75)
{
System.out.println("Your grade is A");
}
else
if
((score >= 60)&&( score <75 )) 
{
System.out.println("Your grade is B");
}
if
((score >=50 )&&(score<60))
{
System.out.println("Your grade is C");
}
else
if
((score >=40 )&&(score  <50))
{
System.out.println(" Your grade is D");
}
else
if
(score <40 )
{
System.out.println(" Sorry you have no part here,FAILED");
}

}
}

Dude, 2 things.
1. Put your code into the code tags